you're reading...
Performance & Events

Central PA Friends of Jazz – 31st Annual “JAZZWALK”


JazzwalkTONIGHT: The Central PA Friends of Jazz  present a showcase event featuring Jonathan Ragonese & Iya Isoke during the 31st Annual  “JAZZWALK.”

“He slipped me a mickey, surreptitiously offered me a glass filled with bawdy bass beats, demure drum sounds & salicious saxaphone bursts, I drank from the cup with adulation unsurpressed…” -Iya, Zanzibar Blue

Harrisburg Maennerchor / 221 North Street / Harrisburg, PA  17101 

PERFORMING TONIGHT: Jonathan Ragonese on Saxaphone ~ Iya Isoke on Prose and I’m breaking in several brand new – never uttered before pieces! The ink is still wet on some of this poetic work.  This is my homage to the beatnik poets I read and admire. I love the path that Allen Ginsberg forged for literary interpretation, I adore Jack Keroacs intrepid mind and untamed free thought. Nikki Giovanni and Sonia Sanchez gave my “little colored girl” voice CPR. The Last Poets were the first voices breaching my brain in a way that said “speak your piece sister.”

But tonight, in my own way, I pay tribute to Gil Scott Heron, a magnificent poet and masterful thinker who recently passed away.

My introduction to the integration of Music & Spoken Word was gritty,daring and intriguing. From Jack Keroac performing  “American Haiku” from “The Book of Blues” (unpublished) with Al Cohn  and Zoot Sims to The Last Poets “Ni**ers Are Scared of Revolution” , poets have always recognized a need to explore this romantic relationship.

Today we have full blown marriages between Poet & Musician.  Tonight the courtship continues.

I am always humbled and excited to perform with Jonathan Ragonese. His saxaphone groove, along with special New York guests Alex Cohen (drums) and Leo Sherman (bass) will set off this soundtrack for an evening of pureness, soulcuddle and microckability!

Doors open at 8 pm Show begins at 9 –  Jazz / Poetry / Drink / Food / LIFE!

THE SHOWCASE EVENT OF THE CPFJ  31ST ANNUAL JAZZWALK .

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
