you're reading...
Rant Hill

What IS That! (Quiet Car Edition)


Good evening and welcome to the flagship edition of: “What IS that?” my random observational rants on life and its peculiarities.

Scenario: An Amtrak QUIET car filled with weary commuters. Some resting, others working quietly, no one talking. Signs posted above clearly designate the car as the QUIET car. When suddenly slicing through the silence comes the sound of a loud one sided Ebonics driven mobile phone conversation.

“Yeah dawg, I’m on da train, naw man she trippin’ en sheet, naw I’mma kick her ass when I see her (insert absurdly loud laughter) naw man dats ma boo dough, yeah, yeah, uh huh, naw man sheeet…

(Que passengers sighs, hands being thrown up, heads peering from behind seats, people glancing at the “quiet car” sign just to make sure they aren’t crazy. One passenger stood up, clutched his bag to his hip and angrily searched for another seat.

“Yo I’mma give you the name of dat dude too dough, yeah, i’mma i’mma text it to yew dough, oh What? I don’t, holeup, lemme, holeup”

This clearly over 37 year old Captain Mobile Malfeasance turns to a passenger across the aisle, “Aye yo, whats da next stop from up here?”

The tight faced pale stranger can barely push his words out through his aggravation “Idon’tknowbutthisisthequietcar”

Que Black man “no this white man did not” face. “What?” Que “damnit I pay my taxes I won’t be intimidated by this Black man face”

“The KWYYY-ET car–you’re not suppose to use your cell phone in here. (pointing to the sign that says “quiet car, -you’re not suppose to use your cell phone in here.”)

How do you spell that blow an elongated puff of air through your lips in lieu of actually saying “phucku”? perrrrshaawww? Yes we’ll go with that.

That was the Brothers response.

Que the conducter sprint walking up the aisle stopping to lean into Mr. “Can You Hear Me Now!” to reiterate “this is the quiet car, no cell phone use Sir. You can go into the vestibule or another car, but not in the Quiet Car.”

“Oh I was talking to my daughter” (wth does that have to do with the price of tea in China?)

Exit Conductor.

Black man stands up and says “Snitches get Stitches” then walks down the aisle loudly saying “SHHHH!” to every passenger as he leaves the car.

“What IS that?” When you’re clearly in the wrong and facing admonishment, instead of accepting the embarrassment & admitting you didn’t know what a Quiet car is—you decide to rectify the wrong by making a BIGGER ass of yourself?

“What IS that?” I just don’t understand. Que writer dropping her head in frustrated resignation.

Well that’s it for this edition, stay tuned for another edition of “What IS that?”

20120311-044029.jpg

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “What IS That! (Quiet Car Edition)

  1. I like your style. I think I’m going to enjoy your writings! Of course, I talked to you in the quiet car…..shame on me…I guess, but my italian side tells me to keep talking to you. Thanks for the access:)

    Like

    Posted by joe | April 12, 2012, 5:32 pm
    • Thanks Joe. I enjoy our “quiet car” pre chats too! 🙂

      Iya Isoke http://www.iyaisoke.wordpress.com

      This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error, please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee, you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this email. Please notify the sender immediately by email if you have received this email by mistake and delete this email from your system.

      Like

      Posted by The "SoKey" Experience | April 13, 2012, 7:34 am

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
