you're reading...
Rant Hill, What IS That!

What IS That (Sleeping Girl Edition)


We decided to skip the subway today and ride the 7 to Center City. It was after 6 & the bus crowded quickly.

An odd assortment of commuters an even more eclectic hodge podge of smells.

While chatting with my friend I noticed slumped in the seat next to him, a tiny brown head full of braids. It was a little girl asleep on the bus. Her tiny mouth slacked open, head resting on Septa window. Unaware of a world in progress.

After several stops my friend & I began to wonder if she was alone, then I began to worry that she may have slept through her stop. We asked the passengers around “is she with you?”

No one claimed her. Ernest and I switched seats so I could gently shake her awake. “Hey baby, are you alone? Do you know what stop you’re looking for? Do you know where you are?” This pretty baby’s eyes took a moment to focus and she looked at me and said “I’m okay, my mama’s over there.”

She pointed through the pack of bodies, to a petite woman standing at the front of the bus. Her back was toward us. She was leaning suggestively into the bus driver.

At first I felt relieved. Then five stops later I noticed this “mother” never once looked back to check on this beautiful sleeping child. Not once. We rode the bus from Front & Oregon to 23rd & Market and not once did she look back.

I don’t know how dynamic her conversation was with that bus driver; but her back was saying so much to me. It told a tale of a woman who had no consideration for the gift of life she was granted. It said “I have a selfish story and I want to share it with you”

Her body language was promising for the driver but her back broken english was damaging to her child.

I waited.

I said a silent prayer that she would redeem herself with one swift backward glance but when we got off the bus she was still engrossed in her conversation with the driver.

Her daughters sleeping body slumped next to the seat I vacated; vulnerable frame exposed to the next passenger who sits down.

20120311-044624.jpg

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

One thought on “What IS That (Sleeping Girl Edition)

  1. HELLO “Good Sister” Having just moved to Harrisbug / Hummelstown in September; I just now read your article in “Central PA” mag. First I taken by the spirit I immediately saw in your eyea and your face. But those feelings were dwarft by the warmth, honesty and genuine human kindness your words impressed on my heart. I can only imagine how much richer my life could have been if more women were of a simular mindset; or if I was blessed enough to have known you in my past. Pleae know that your words and works are doing the Heavenly Father’s goodwill. YOU MOST CERTAINLY HAVE TOUCHED TSHE HEART OF THIS EX-MARINE! Stay strong and I hope that one day soon you may find my upcoming writings worth reading? ,,,,,,Your Brother, fan and admirer..Reggie Sanders

    Like

    Posted by Reggie Sanders Sr. | October 16, 2012, 12:32 pm

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
