you're reading...
Performance & Events

Central PA Is About To Be Jawstruck!


Central PA Magazine

Iya Isoke on the Cover of Central PA Magazine

In this months Central PA Magazine you will find in depth articles on Daina Savage/ Poet Laureate of Lancaster County, Carla Christopher/ Poet Laureate of York, Fritz Williams/ Poet Laureate of Perry County, Allison Cline Saia/ Poet Laureate of Hanover & (me) Iya Isoke/ Poet Laureate of Harrisburg. It was an honor to have a professional Photo Shoot with  Photographer Sean Simmers & Art Director Daniel Zampogna. We were each interviewed by Patriot News Reporter Carolyn Kimmel. I was nervous about doing the interview. I didn’t know what the angle would be, I had no clue how the pictures would look and we live in a “gotcha” society so I was worried that we would all be depicted as “crazed poets” or something like that. But when I saw the magazine, held the article in my hands and read each poets profile, I was elated. They did such a wonderful job of promoting poetry in Central PA. As a result plans are being made to connect all the Laureates and I’m proud to say that I will be participating in Carla Christopher’s (York Poet Laureate) Spoken Word/Poetry Festival on June 1st.

Jawstruck! Spoken Word & Performance Poetry Festival
Friday, June 1st
The York Emporium
943 West Market Street
York, PA 17401
4pm – 8pm

In addition to having the honor of performing during the Judge’s Showcase, this event features the remarkable Taalam Acey, Quiet Storm, Wordwide and a host of breath-taking poets. Get there on time to support the Youth Poets as they put there hearts on the poetic line in an amazing Poetry Slam.

If you’d like to read the articles on the various Laureates, Central PA Magazine is available in many places in and around Central Pennsylvania, including Giant Food Stores, Weis Market, Wegman’s , Stauffers and Wal-Mart. I picked my copy up at the Amtrak Train Station in Harrisburg on my way to Philly. I have to say walking into an establishment and purchasing a copy of a magazine with your face on the cover, is an experience that, for once in my life, I can’t put into words.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
