you're reading...
Just Thinking, Poetry, Uncategorized

The Long & Short of It


National Poetry Month has become more of an obligation than a celebration. 

I embrace poetry every waking hour of my being and I probably dream in prose, so I’m not a big ole fan of “national” celebrations.

If we respected life, love and earth daily then there would be no need to be forced to highlight gifts we were given at the conception of existence.

At any rate, I was asked this question and I feel  somewhat obligated to answer.

“Iya, which of your poems define you as a poet?”

The complex answer is that I believe they each define my moments in time of this my lifes journey, which is a direct line to who I am. Me. To completely define me you’d need to read every word I’ve ever written. Lay these poems side by side and immerse yourself in my triumphs and pain, gather my riddles, similes and metaphors then explore the spirit which resides deep inside the recesses of my psyche. Investigate the path of each carefully chosen word as you follow my smiling heart and frowning mind, to properly reflect within me with me.

(o)_(0)…crickets…

I know that is too much to decipher, too much to dwell upon and in this society, it is not the answer you’re looking for.

You want the easy answer.

The microwave society can’t wait for water to boil to properly prepare food answer.

The too impatient to cultivate a real love so you reality TV a relationship in six episodes and are genuinely shocked when you go through a horrible episode with your quick pick stranger danger love answer.

The battery operated fast release because your false images and body issues prevent you from slowly exploring satisfaction of the true intimacy of a shared orgasm answer.

Fast food, fast love, quick and easy satisfaction. We don’t care to care or cultivate anymore.

We are a cliff note tribe of shortcutters. So let’s begin at the beginning.

“Iya, which of your poems define you as a poet?”

I have tried looking at the world through rose-colored glasses; but thorns of reality continue to pierce my eyes so I blink back the bloody tears and write what I see.- iya isoke ©1999

Beeeeeeep….

That’s the long and short of it.

Enjoy the balance of National Poetry Month. I’m sure I’ll see you next year. Me? I’ll be right here.

image

I am the thorn protecting the rose

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
