you're reading...
Just Thinking

Stand & Deliver


image

Last month my grandson stood on wobbly legs for the first time in his 10 month old life.

He had mastered the art of crawling and used it as his primary mode of transportation, however, you could tell this new upright position was foreign to him; but there was a giddiness of accomplishment in his eyes everytime he stood tall.

Standing was the first step.

In the coming days I would observe him go from a crawling to sitting to standing position. His stance was saky and he fell more times than he walked but he kept trying. Crawling was his safety zone, his go to place, his area of expertise. He could crawl in a few moments, fly across my hardwood floor.

Initially his walk was seemingly arduous.

He didn’t quit trying, he’d fall, crawl and pull himself up to a stand. Once he had standing in tow he noticed he couldn’t turn his head without falling. He work through this obstacle taking the falls in stride. He learned to utilize the resources around him to assist him in his walking endeavor. He leaned on walls, tables and his mothers legs to steady his gait.

Within a few weeks he was able to take better steps, stand longer and move without tumbling.

Tonight, as I watched him gracefully navigating my livingroom I wondered “what if he didn’t have the resolve to embrace this new opportunity in his life?” “What if he quit after the first fall?” “What if he would have been content with mastering crawling and relied on that skill to carry him through his toddler year?”

My grandsons growth would surely be stunted and his view of the world permanently skewed.

Through my grandsons journey I am reminded of my own. I’m taking first unsteady steps into a new chapter at work. There are decisions to be made, choices I could take, opportunities I could choose. I could crawl through my career with ease; relying on the skills I’ve mastered, falling back on what I know and shuffling in place.

Or I could bravely work on moving into this new vocation without falling, utilizing simple resources and putting one foot fearlessly in front of the other until I have successfully made my own stride.

image

Thank you Travis for teaching Nana to keep moving, keep striving, keep strolling, and to walk on.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Allergic Reactions | The "SoKey" Experience - September 28, 2014

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
