you're reading...
Healing, Just Thinking

Under Pressure


image

I went to bed feeling uneasy and woke up with a rip rock roaring headache. I’d already suffered through the night as the migraine broke through my head, stealing valuable time by holding pleasant dreams hostage.

The pain was unrelenting, demanding attention like a boyfriend who won’t accept the breakup.

I could barely get out of bed. I’m talking near tears and a willingness to pay a royal ransom for someone to travel to my house just to massage my scalp until I fell asleep.

Hurt was encircling the top of my head and if you drew a line from eyebrow to eyebrow and top of forehead to tip of nose, then peeled back the skin you would see all pain and a pure puffy pouch of bloody irritation. I was laying down in sheets of self pity; blanketed in “woe is me”; writhing in discomfort; massaging my own scalp (dis sum bewl y’all); but the throbbing remained excruciating.

Aggravated at being sick and hurt on a Saturday when I had plans (have my nails done, maybe braid my hair and go see a movie with my bestie) and determined not to be defeated by my own body, I sat up preparing for battle.
MIGRAINE: (at Iya’s audacity not to accept his proposal) “This is blasphemy; this is madness!”
IYA: (turns, narrows eyes to migraine)  “Madness? THIS.  IS.   SPARTA!!!!!”

Except instead of kicking my nemesis into an open pit and watching it fall to its demise; I sat feeling less Leonidas and more “owwhahahahwwwwwuch, ahhhh I want my mommy.” 

Rubbing my forehead, regretting sitting up, contemplating putting my firey head back on my soft pillow, my middle finger (go figure) touched the area just beneath my eyelid, and eyebrow, almost between the bone just under my left eyeball.

I put pressure on it and felt immediate relief. “well hmmmm?”.

Vague recollections of conversations about acupuncture, pressure points, and holistic medicine flashed through the wildfire of pain burning across my head. I’m not an expert; but I sat on the side of my bed experimenting with that area, searching until I felt comfortable putting a gentle pressure on the seemingly magical spot.

It was glorious like the moment pain meds kick in; within 15 minutes the headache was alleviated.

I am left with only an aura of pain stalking my brain like Dementors outside the gate of Hogwarts banking on my fear of migraines so they can steal my soul and Saturday.

But I am not afraid.

image

This will not be over quickly migraine. You will not enjoy this. I am not your Queen!

I’ve suffered from chronic migraines since I was 21 (many, many, many moons ago). I’ve had MRI’s and Cat Scans, been hospitalized and strong medicine prescribed. The doctors have never been able to pinpoint why I’m prone to suffer my cranium attacking my brain. I will pop open a bottle of pills in a minute in order to knock the migraine out my head. It never dawned on me to do anything else.

In life we tend to easily concede defeat to discomfort. We’ve become accustomed to seeking quick resolutions. Wrinkles? Why drink water when you can have a surgeon tie your face to the base of your skull? Overweight? Why exercise and control portions when you can have the fat sucked out your ass? (Literally) Bald? Don’t you dare accept yourself as you are! Go out and let an infomercial convince you to surgically pull the unused hair from your armpits and paste it on your head.

Plastic surgery, pills, and other innovations have done little but make us lazy with unkempt motivation, nonexistent inspiration and change the face of our landscape into an acceptable abomination.

The headache has subsided. I will lay back down to recuperate before enjoying the balance of my weekend. I’m pleasantly surprised that I was the sole caretaker of my ailment and will now study pressure points and holistic healing; because this vessel we navigate though the choppy waters of life, is a masterful work of engineering, designed for self sustainability and we ought to deeply understand her intricacies.

For all we don’t know the remedy for all that ails us is probably in our own hands.

image

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Under Pressure

  1. Love that last line…. “For all we don’t know the remedy for all that ails us is probably in our own hands.”

    i think, in most things, we DO have the remedy. It may not be the easiest solution or the most convenient, but we have the power in many ways to right our wrongs.

    Well said!

    (I also love whenever we can work the word “nemesis” into a conversation!)

    Like

    Posted by Thomas Welcomer | September 20, 2014, 11:53 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Allergic Reactions | The "SoKey" Experience - September 28, 2014

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
