you're reading...
Just Thinking

Watched


image

Last week I watched a video of a woman walking in New York city. She was filmed for 10 hours and the video showed how many times she was supposedly harassed. Although I didn’t really see harassment, with the exception of the guy silently walking beside her for a while; a lot of people did not get the point that constantly being “hollered at” can wear thin. Watch the news, we are reminded daily that this isn’t the safest society.

We don’t live in Bedford Falls.

I understand seeing someone you find attractive and wanting to meet that person; but in a day and age where women are drastically targeted and harmed, we should each take personal responsibility for our social behavior.

The video didn’t have the impact that it could have, however, it did remind me of a piece I wrote a few years ago. So I’m posting it tonight.

True Stories.
______________________________________
I’ve had a man stand on stage declare his love for me through poetry then go to jail for killing his girlfriends baby.

The night I met him at a poetry spot he said my eyes were hot, he acted like love was sought, despite the fact that a momentary conversation from me was all he got.

I’ve had a man take photographs to forge my marketing path, suggested we go to the beach; I thought I knew what he was seeking, only to find out it wasn’t my ass he was peeking; it was my feet.

So while i was walking barefoot in the sand with a butterfly ring on my pinky toe, he’s clicking pictures real low, on a lark like the ninja was Gordon Parks, my naked feet getting his dick hard.

Told me later that getting me out of my shoes and socks rocked his cock, like taking off my shirt and bra.

There was a chick that left constant messages, telling me how, when and where she was going to have me, all I had was her eerie voice on the phone, after an event one night I found my self alone, I stood in the hall trying to make a call, looked up and she was standing there, she spoke, and I nearly choked, recognizing her words, I screamed fearing for my life, the cops hauled her away, to this day I’m shook knowing she was carrying a knife.

Another comments on a photo of me washing dishes, it brought his lust up from the ditches, he said me in my lavender playtex stroked him and his abnormal fetish…latex.

Turned on by a woman in rubber and plastic?

Yet nothing was as drastic as the man I briefly met and Facebook friended, he sent me long winded in boxes, commenting and clicking “like” on every post, posted up in my life with letters of affection even dropped by my job with a weapon.

Said it was for my protection because I told him he was making me nervous, but he said he was a public servant, doing a public service.

I had to have him served with an order to stop and desist. But he couldn’t resist and kept coming at me.

I deleted him then hit him with the block.

That’s when he hit me on my block, my daughter answer the door when she heard his knock-knock.

He just wanted to drop off a birthday package.

This man was a constable carrying a gun and a badge.

This ish isn’t just sad – it’s redamndiculous, men letting their  dicks lead their life, causing unsuspecting women strife because their sexual connections ain’t right?

Their “act right” wires been spliced?

Now I have to live in crisis, constantly calling on Christ?

Because I was nice enough to give a moment of my time?

Look…

Sometimes I say hi, I’m known to be nice, oft times I will smile, spend time for awhile, I laugh at your jokes, advise and I host; but I’m unavailable off the stage, unapproachable off that page and these rhymes aren’t written for, by or about you.

I have no ability to channel you and saying hello don’t  mean I want you.

My eyes aren’t calling you and neither am I…

I might say peace when i leave but trust me it is absolutely good bye.

I’m not interested in being more than a friend and NO a friendship is not a means to an end.

I’m not flattered by your compliments or accomplishments, and i need you to keep your damn distance.

To Keep your letters, love and your lust, defreind me from your list if you must.

Stay 500 feet away from me because I’m truly not gonna ever be your chick, won’t be, NEVER.

Stop stalking me behind some poetry or writing or lines you find clever.

Whatever ties you feel with me
you need to mentally sever.

I
do
not
want
to
Be
With
You
Not
EVER!

I’m so tired of losing sleep behind mentally deficient boys masquerading as men.

Get a stronger grip and stay in your lane.

If you still don’t get it, let me make it plain.

I’m never going to be the chick you catch, screw or marry;

but because of your kind I am that bitch with a license to carry.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
