you're reading...
Healing, Just Thinking

Shook


image

The couple was laying on the couch heavy into a long drawn out kiss. She was laying on top of him in a position which once suited her. Somewhere in the middle of the kiss she lost complete interest. Lost inside the kiss he barely noticed. Something was wrong. Very wrong. She pulled her head up said “I can’t, I have a situation.”

He looked confused. Wrapping his arms tightly around her; he tried pulling her back down.

This kiss, once cool and inviting was now wet with slobber.

She couldn’t.

She got off him and he sat up. She ran to the bathroom; wretched as she spits out his slobber along with orange bile.

She was repelled.

It dawned on him what her “situation” was.

There were no words between them as he hastily buckled his pants, pulled on his shoes, buttoned his shirt and turned to her.

She was suddenly nervous about what he would do, how he would react and wanted him to leave quickly. She wanted to push him out the door. She couldn’t get him out quick enough. Fear gripped her heart.

“I have a situation.” She repeated. “I have a situation.”

He silently stood in the open doorway as people walked down the hall carrying laundry. He wasn’t going to leave. She knew him. He wasn’t going to leave and suddenly she became angry.

“I HAVE A SITUATION!” she screamed.

As her words hit the atmosphere the ground began to shake beneath her feet. She lost her balance and was shaken into his arms. He caught her and they looked up witnessing the lights in the hall shaking, the skylight in the hallway cracked in a dangerous spiderweb pattern.

People in the hall began running.

The couple looked down at their feet staring in wide eyed disbelief as the ground percolated like boiling water.

It happened too fast for reaction.

She tried to pull him back inside the apartment; but the glass rained down as the ground shook, cracked and split apart; forever separating them with an easy tear.

The noise was soul shaking. She could see what looked like giant sparkling fireworks blazing in the distance. The earth shattered causing a horrific scream as he disappeared into darkness.

There was no time to decipher what was happening; she grabbed the nearest column and held on for dear life as the floor gave way and she began plummeting to the ground to the soundtrack of Katy Perry’s “Dark Horse.”

So you wanna play with magic?
Boy, you should know what you’re falling for!
Baby do you dare to do this?
Cause I’m coming at you like a dark horse!
Are you ready for, ready for
A perfect storm, perfect storm
Cause once you’re mine, once you’re mine. (Katy Perry, Dark Horse)

There’s no going back.

image

____________________________________
I popped up in my bed, drenched in a cold sweat believing I had actually hit the ground. Confused between an awake and asleep state it took a few moments to realize I had been dreaming. It was 10:40 pm. I was filled with fear wondering why I was dreaming about an earthquake; was it a premonition? Was someone hurt? Who was that in my dream? What was the situation I was screaming about? I grabbed my phone fearful that someone had called with bad news. No texts, no missed calls. I double clicked my Galaxy 5 and commanded it  “Open Facebook.” The oddly robotic human voice replied “opening Facebook.”
I clicked on my sister’s page. Six minutes earlier she had posted this

image

I read it twice.

Then I understood why I was dreaming of destruction. It wasn’t an imminent natural disaster on the way.

It was me preparing for the perfect storm.

For the past two months I’ve been spending a great deal of time with a man whose managed to keep me mentally engaged, socially busy and emotionally happy.

Happy? What a concept.

I thought he would just be someone to hang with; but he isn’t.

He just isn’t.

Dreams manifest deep seeded emotions. They often speak for us when we can’t or won’t do it for ourselves.

At first glance it seems as if I was rejecting my past. On closer look you’ll see I am not sweeping my past under a rug of discontent. I wasn’t comparing, denying, or running from it. I wasn’t discounting the love I had or shared.

I was shook loose and rejected from the concept of holding on to something that no longer exists.

I am in “like” and I’m loving the feeling of this. The feeling of him and it would be grossly unfair to allow the barriers of my past to prevent us from finding our way together in the future.

This dream represents my demolition and excavation of old foundations to make room for a new, stronger structure.

I’m ready for the perfect storm.

There’s no going back.

image

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Shook

  1. That was awesome! Killer way for me to start the day and it’s always kind of nice to know someone else out there is tangled up “in like” with someone. It is a mighty fun place to be. Enjoy it and thank you. 🙂

    Like

    Posted by Anonymous | November 24, 2014, 5:03 am

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
