you're reading...
Just Thinking

Perfumed Portals


image

I’ve had a migraine aura for the past 3 days. It’s in my eye socket. Right now its just numb.

My auras are like portals; if not protected, triggers can enter the swirling mass fighting for peace and attack weakened nerves thereby rendering me useless.

My triggers are stale cigarette smoke, smoked skin, morning after colonge or perfume, and same day saturated colonge or perfume.

I’m standing in a bodega waiting on beef bacon and home fries  (smells that calm my pains) when a woman with make up so thick her face looked sculpted, wearing  a weave so unbecoming it made her look like CG version of  herself; breezed into the store. This caricature emitted a perfume so sweet and peppery that my nostrils instinctively slammed shut in a massive attempt to protect my eye socket from the full on frontal attack of her vicious untamed sickly sweet smell. I walked in the opposite direction to avoid her but she seemed to need something on every shelf I side stepped to get away from her. Finally, holding my breath I paid my bill jetting out the door like Flash thwarting a threat.

Once outside I took a deep breath of West Philly to clense the pallet of my adenoids only to be immediately hit smack dab in the center of my aura by Moonstruck Musk Rasta Oil.

A man and his son were walking up the block; their oil so strong that they were a full block ahead of me and yet the oil lingered as if they were dragging a blanket of wet scent behind them.

image

My nose dived to deflect the sharp stench before it could cause irreparable harm; but it was too late. The portal opened allowing the migraine to rise and encase my head in a glee filled danse macabre.

I am the victim of random acts of senseless sensory assault and battery.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
