you're reading...
Just Thinking, Rant Hill

No Comment


image

I don’t really give a gave about Rachel Dolezal or her life as a Black woman; I have opinions for sure, we all do (that’s human). I’m pretty much uninterested in the lives of people who can not or do not impact my life.

Informed opinions don’t bother me. What fascinates me is the way people latch on to one reported aspect of a person’s life and descend upon it with hate like locusts called upon by the hand of God to seek and destroy. I’m paralyzed with with perplexes by vitriolic comments and commentaries, and the audacious way we speak (and post) as if authorities on the lives of people we are only viewing through a myopic lens. So much so that I’ve  turned away from even listening to the news. I certainly dislike reading it.

Everyone with a wifi connection and username can become an expert commentator on all things.

I remember the day after Charles was killed, the local paper posted a story because it was a double murder, suicide. Here we are a grieving family, heartbroken friends, suffering the loss of three people to an unfathomable  tragedy and a commenter saw fit to post Charles arrest record. An unarmed man who was murdered trying to protect his sister.

An anonymous commenter posted a 10 year old arrest record as if to say he deserved to die because he did time.

What kind of society am I living in?

I remember feeling uncontrollable pain and a seering new anger introduced itself to my spirit.

That’s my personal experience; but it’s not relegated to just me. You can’t scroll a post on social media without reading some of the most disgusting, offhandedly rude or disparaging remarks on articles. Sometimes it seems the poster hasn’t even bothered to read the article. People have a viseral reaction to photos and headlines and unleash unbelievably  ignorant tirades.

This easy access to social media platforms and the ability to be a cloak and dagger commenter has created people who are so callus and arrogant in their assertions that their right to inject their inappropriate opinion usurps common courtesy and decorum.

image

It is maddening.

Yes the world is populated with narcissists, psychopaths, racists, bigots, bitter unhappy aholes and people who flat out seek to harm. Absolutely we have folks who, let’s just say, don’t tend to do or say the most intelligent things. 

The world is also populated with flawed humans struggling to find the right path.

Once upon a wayback we had these people called newscasters. They gathered and cast the news into your livingroom, without commentary. Their deadpan delivery let you know this is serious, now contemplate this and understand the severity of this. This should not be.  Now, the news people literally scoff when delivering the news then insert their personal opinion.
Even the term “newscaster” is dead.

Everyone is a commentator.

I look at my life, the many mistakes, terrible decisions, the horrible situations, the tumbles and stumbles, pitfalls and bass ackward roads I’ve traveled and I wonder how harshly I’d be judged if TMZ decided to take one snapshot out the album of my life and present it as the sum of who I am.

Have you ever wondered what the comments would be under your last life blunder? How would you be affected?

I am not my mistakes, I am who I am because of the lessons learned from my mistakes and so are you.

It’s hard enough to be human in a world where perfection is the unobtainable goal everyone is racing toward.  We should each concentrate on evolving beyond our growing pangs, beyond our faults, beyond our missteps and into better versions of who we are groomed to become; and it should be accomplished without subtitles, armchair quarterbacks, public scrutiny and judgments.

If only we could CTRL, ALT, DELETE ignorance.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “No Comment

  1. Preach sista, preach.

    Like

    Posted by vigoronline | June 18, 2015, 10:08 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Iya Isoke quote | vigoronline - June 18, 2015

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
