you're reading...
Just Thinking

Counted on it


  

 

I haven’t updated much in 2015. I accepted a new position at work which required I awaken the left brain linear thinking bear which had been hibernating deep inside my subconscious. I became so focused on my goal (reducing a tremendous variance and taming the wild Inventory horse that seemingly kept escaping an unlocked barn); that writing became secondary to my day to day life. 

Writing has always been my salvation. It’s my comfort and security but I had to block out a majority of my right brain to get a firm grip on my job. 

What I discovered over this past year is the power and value of becoming a linear thinker; streamlining issues; being analytical and pragmatic in my approach to problem solving. I once thought the left brain was for librarians, mathematicians, scientists and other dull people who sucked the air dry with the boredom of statistical data. I loved my free thinking creative self and never saw the need to be anything different than the poetic soul God made me to be. 

Then something changed. I  was introduced to this foreign world of perpetual inventory where parts never really stop moving and it was my job to watch the movement and track it from so many points with multiple variables. 

It was like the game of Catch the Chicken Rocky had to play to get ready for his big fight. 

Only imagine over 800 running chickens in two separate barns with farmers plowing through every 5 minutes asking how many chickens you caught; screaming “we need more eggs!” The villagers are going hungry because you can’t produce enough eggs and there are random people taking eggs, chickens, hay, your pitchforks, they’re dropping off their old tractors, stomping around your yard, throwing parties in your barn yet you become responsible for the great egg famine. No ones eating. You have farmhands but they are only accustomed to taking the eggs to the market. How ever many eggs they’re told to bring. Other than that they’re content watching you chase chickens around the yard.

And your directive is “don’t lose one chicken, don’t have an egg shortage and don’t crack one egg!”

It seemed insurmountable and overwhelming at first then I began to blend logic and pragmatism to build something powerful. 

Logically how many chickens can this yard hold? How many eggs can one chicken have? How many chickens were dropped off? Why are they laying eggs all over the yard? Lets  put them in this room to lay and hatch. How many are needed? Who needs them? Give each farmer a separate delivery time. Tag the chickens as they come in, clean out the barn, clear it of old hay, assign the chickens a coop, keep it clean, don’t allow farmers to just drop by, control the broken eggs, and keep everyone off your farm until it’s functioning. Whatever you do don’t  let the loud clucking of chickens distract you off your game. They’re chickens, they cluck, keep it moving.

The process was daunting because people who’ve never had to catch a chicken had plenty of advice about the proper way to do it. People who wanted the eggs didn’t care about the farm, people who supplied the chickens took little responsibility for the condition of the chickens and no one knew how many eggs cracked before I suited up in my overalls.

I shut down my right brain and leaned so far to the left I bruised my shoulders. But I was awakened to the power of the left brain and I exercised that muscle to the point folks were comparing it to Serena Williams massive ummm muscle.

I have a quiet, clean efficiently functioning farm now. The chickens are trained to remain in their coop. Eggs are hatched and delivered as needed. We have all learned our part in the farming process and the villagers are eating healthy.

As for me I learned to use my left and right brain accordingly; as I now understand the value of not putting all my eggs in one basket.

I love “farming” but I need the balance of creativity to make myself whole. So I’m going back to updating my blog every Sunday. It’s like a mental massage to cleanse the workweek woes away. 

I hope you’ll join (or rejoin) me in my new journeys. 

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Counted on it

  1. I’m guessing most of us never left…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Thomas Welcomer | December 24, 2015, 12:06 pm
  2. Welcome back sista.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by vigoronline | December 24, 2015, 12:33 pm

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
