you're reading...
Healing, Uncategorized

Trauma Unit


  
There was anger here. 

The fire may have been put out long ago; but she could still smell smoldering smoke residue in her movement. 

She was not fully healed. 

It wasn’t until she hobbled away from her faith, her race, her beliefs, her circle that she could see clearly the traumatic footprints tracking behind her as she left the remnants of a boorish existence lingering in the dirt of backwards motion.

Rather than carry the dust of an immutable past into her future; she discarded old shoes and clothing; choosing to go bare footed and naked toward an embraced newness. 

Letting it all go.

“They won’t like this.” She thought aloud. “They’ll say I’ve changed, they’ll try to convince me that I’m behaving too hastily.” 

It’s been over five years.

Time enough to see that these things that happened are at once connected and separated. 

They’ve left indelible scabs which will not scar completely. Unwashed wounds do not heal and her infection is going untreated. 

In this visual world she views her counterparts as violent, uncaring and dangerous. Even her spiritual refuge has been sullied by the acts of a suicidal praying coward. 

Where once she loved her people unconditionally; she now doubts their motives with an instantaneous decree.

There is no more desire to fight for a cause she considers lost. Every click of the remote brings a carrier pigeon of disgraceful news landing on the branch of her brain reserved for hope. 

Her will is simply gone. Abject apathy for human life seems to be winning and her superpowers have failed her. 

So she retreats; allowing others to take up the fight. 

She is strong enough to recognize when it is time to rest; but not surrender. 

May the burning embers of rage soon subside.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Trauma Unit

  1. I get you…..love where you come from and send me towards understanding another soul-sista..

    Like

    Posted by Wadiya | January 18, 2016, 1:49 pm

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
