you're reading...
Just Thinking

Battle Fatigue


 

the work of Canadian sculptor Tim Schmalz

Jesus the Homeless, Canadian sculptor Tim Schmaltz

 
Tonight as I battle fatigue; lament on the insanity of my workplace; contemplate bills; budget for a run to the market; run a hot bath; pick warm soft house clothes to lounge in; browse on demand movies; and revel in my life choices and experiences; I am moved by an in depth understanding of “God bless the child, that’s got his own.” 

As I fritter over the trite details of a life blessed by each approaching year; I am aware there is a man, woman, a child pulling the tattered fabric of a worn coat closer for a semblance of warmth. 

A human without a home is huddled in a corner or hunched over a grate seeking heat of humanity through the storms of snow raining down on broken dreams and impoverished potential. 

There is a soul disconnected from reality locked in insanitys unsanitary stench without benefit of medication; kept sole company by the voices sheltered inside their head. 

I am aware that my ability, my agility to survive is a blessing. 

I find spare change in purses and couches of my home, not in the pitiful downward glances of strangers dropping them into makeshift baskets and cups. 

I spread blanket on down mattress, not cardboard on concrete. 

Tonight I submit fully; acknowledging gratitude with humility while praying fervently for a safe journey for those in despair. 

Amen.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
