you're reading...
Just Thinking

We Don’t Mind


The mind is a powerful persuader.   

Sometime last year I saw a YouTube video of a person in another country (lort I hope it was a foreign country🤔) skinning and deboning rats to serve.

  

Like… a bucket of rat meat.  

It was sautéed up; served and resembled (resembled I say🤔) all the meat in a Chinese buffet. Of course the implication was we are being served rat meat in the US Chinese buffets.
  

Now I’ve already been suspicious of their rather large “chicken” wings and the spice that changes the taste of the chicken completely.🤔 So I made up my “mind” to stop eating buffet. Even though theoretically, if it isssss rat meat, it’s mighty dern tasty😳. But I digress, point is my “mind” was made up. But it’s my mind, I made it up, I can unmake it right?🤔

Yesterday I went with coworkers to a delicious buffet I’ve enjoyed many times prior; so imagine my surprise when I was milling about with my plate, you know the look, zombie like plate in hand, staring awkwardly at cooked dishes, placed delicately inside giant steam tables; squinting to read hand written descriptions. There I am, plate in hand, grazing. 

  
I am telling myself, my mind, that it is ohhhkaaay to eat this food (flashback of YouTube video, rats in a bucket) 

 I placed just a scoop of white rice on my plate. 

I am telling my mind that it is aaallllright to eat this food (flashback of sautéed rat meat, flash forward me staring at beef and broccoli then chicken broccoli) 

  Just a scoop of egg drop soup in a bowl. 

I am desperately telling my mind to put the fried chicken on the plate. My mind replays a fat rat leg being floured, seasoned and dropped in hot oil.

  

Well at least there’s fish. 

That sign says Baked Salmon. Looks down. No. No. That’s not salmon, that’s some sort of Tilapia. What other lies are you hiding Grand Buffet? What other liiiiesss!

  

A scoop of mashed potato, if that’s your real name😒.

I walk back to the table where my coworkers, one of Asian descent is eating clams and sushi. My eyes narrow. What does she know?

  

I look down at my plate. White Rice. Mashed potatoes and Egg Drop Soup. 20 bucks. 

The point isn’t that we are being fed rodents. The point is how persuasive the mind can be against you once you’ve set it. 

Think about the last time you’ve “made your mind up” then someone else tried to change it.  

 Resistance  sometimes seems futile. 

So let’s remember the rat wings when we’re asking people to “just stop racism” it’s hard for good people to shake off what their minds have been groomed to think. 

Especially when the YouTube video playing in your mind is your parents, and their parents and theirs; chopping up values, dipping fundamental beliefs into skewed batter and serving up fried logic.

  

Even though I read five different articles debunking the rat meat in US food; even though I know the Health Department wouldn’t stand for it; even though I know it’s illogical to believe such nonsense; My mind just couldn’t bring myself to put any meat on my plate. 

Even though I knew I was probably being silly. 

Probably.

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

One thought on “We Don’t Mind

  1. I remember this in a email years ago. That’s why I only order shrimp lomein…

    Like

    Posted by Lavender Queen Liz | April 27, 2016, 2:49 pm

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
