you're reading...
Just Thinking

Villagers


  
Today I’m taking a moment to recognize the women in my family who have impacted or motivated me. Some of you already know; but it dawned on me that most of you have no clue. 

I grew up with some, then as time rolled along I’ve grown adrift of you. I love peering through this brilliant looking glass of Social Media and watching how we’ve all gone from blossoming little girls to daring and bold women. Some of you are my elders; most I’ve met late in life and we didn’t have the opportunity to grow up together; but you’ve groomed me in ways it would take ages to explain. 

One in particular I raised and her wisdom continually progresses me. 

It is a blessing to see life lessons we’ve received from mothers, grandmothers and great grand-mothers come to a full and demanding fruition. 

  

We need women in this world. Not “real” women. Not “strong” women. All women are real. Most women are strong. 

What we need are effective women. 

Those who understand and respect our place. 

As the neck which directs a neighborhoods turning head toward the right path; as the hands which properly chastise and warmly comfort; the legs which walk a village toward growth and away from foolishness. 

  

Respect our place.

As the brain of a generation controlling proper thought; the spine which keeps a family standing; the flesh, blood and heartbeat of every community. 

  

We are the source. 

  

Women are where the ocean begins and the waves of what occur are controlled by the moons of our disposition.

I’m gradually taking my place as an elder and I hope to instill wisdom, critical thinking skills, compassion, strength, empathy, diligence and the correct concept of love to those coming along behind and beside me. 

  

There is love here in this space for each of you beautiful sisters and I thank you for allowing the backdrop of your lives to inspire mine. 

About The "SoKey" Experience

Each morning I wake I pour myself into a goblet, slowly inhaling the scent of my own faults, swirling them around the glass, allowing them to breath, then I sip, allowing my own inconsistencies to soak my tongue before swallowing. If I am tipsy from my own frailties - I'm less likely to become drunk on yours. -SoKey (introspection)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

Play Catch Up-Read Past Posts!

She Writes – Date Night!

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
